Griffith Park Astronomer’s Monument – Los Angeles CA


The Astronomer’s Monument is one of L. Archibald Garner’s well-known public works. It was completed in 1934 with PWAP support. It pays homage to six great astronomers: Hipparchus, Nicolas Copernicus, Galileo Galilei, Johannes Kepler, Isaac Newton, and William Herschel. Although the monument was Garner’s design, he worked with 5 other sculptors to sculpt and cast it. Each artist was responsible for sculpting one astronomer. (One of the artists- George Stanley- was also the creator of the famous “Oscar” statuette).

Source notes

Project originally submitted by Terry (Garner) Stafford on May 19, 2010.

We welcome contributions of additional information on any New Deal project site.

Location Info

Click to open Map

2800 East Observatory Road
Los Angeles, CA 90027

Location notes:

Coordinates: 34.118888, -118.300383

3 comments on “Griffith Park Astronomer’s Monument – Los Angeles CA

  1. Einar Einarsson Kvaran

    Who did what here?
    What sculptor created which astronomer?

  2. Hipparchus (about 125 B.C.) – Archibald Garner
    Nicolaus Copernicus (1473-1543) – Djey el Djey
    Galileo Galilei (1564-1642) – Gordon Newell
    Johannes Kepler (1571-1630) – Arnold Foerster
    Isaac Newton (1642-1727) – George Stanley (also created the Oscar)
    John Herschel (1738-1822) – Roger Noble Burnham

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *