Olmos Basin Park Entrance Portal
In 1934, The Civil Works Administration built a latrine and wading pool on land in the Olmos Creek floodplain. The City Council of San Antonio named the area Franklin Fields in 1940, presumably in honor of President Franklin Roosevelt. The area was to be “fully developed as a natural forest area and to include various fields, all manner of recreation facilities, as well as for the purpose of conservation and the preservation of the natural beauty of this place.”
The park received additional federal funds for development in July 1940, when the park was designated a Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) camp. CCC Company 3804 transferred to Franklin Fields in August 1940 to begin work. CCC Company 3822V replaced Company 3804 in May 1941. They built roads, cleared bridle paths, cut underbrush, laid out athletic fields and installed picnic units. The city later renamed the park Olmos Basin Park.
http://www.mysanantonio.com/news/article/Source-of-Olmos-Park-stones-a-mystery-2390537.php Steely, James Wright. ''Parks for Texas: Enduring Landscapes of the New Deal''. Austin: U of Texas, 1999. Print. http://tslarc.tsl.texas.gov/CCCDrawings/SP.4.3.jpg
Project originally submitted by Larry Moore on August 13, 2014.
We welcome contributions of additional information on any New Deal project site.SUBMIT MORE INFORMATION OR PHOTOGRAPHS FOR THIS SITE