Hawks Nest May 2018
“The state bought the park lands in 1935, and the Civilian Conservation Corps made improvements including a picnic shelter, snack and souvenir shop, museum, and restrooms. The museum, which holds pioneer artifacts, features a glassed observation room offering a view of the gorge…The stone restroom, built by the CCC and shaped like a round tower, is unique.” (http://www.wvencyclopedia.org)
The park’s main overlook complex was also built by the CCC.
Project originally submitted by The Living New Deal on March 17, 2015.
Additional contributions by Ernest Everrett Blevins.
We welcome contributions of additional information on any New Deal project site.SUBMIT MORE INFORMATION OR PHOTOGRAPHS FOR THIS SITE