Locke Hill Auditorium in 2018Photo: Larry D. Moore, April 11, 2018, CC BY-SA 4.0
Text of the state historical marker reads:
“In 1934, the Federal Works Progress Administration (WPA) built an auditorium on the original Locke Hill school grounds. Federal workers constructed the limestone building out of stone from a nearby quarry. Built to address the county superintendent’s call for school improvements, the auditorium served as a central community space. Following post-war growth, the school’s infrastructure no longer met increased student needs. In 1976, the Locke Hill School was rebuilt less than one mile away to accommodate more students and to meet new building standards. The historic auditorium exists as a longstanding testament to San Antonio’s commitment to education.”
The auditorium is now part of the Northside Alternative Middle School campus.
Texas Historic Sites Atlas:
(https://atlas.thc.state.tx.us/Details/5507017996), accessed April 27, 2018.
Project originally submitted by Larry Moore on April 28, 2018.
We welcome contributions of additional information on any New Deal project site.SUBMIT MORE INFORMATION OR PHOTOGRAPHS FOR THIS SITE