Kerrville-Schreiner Park culvert
In 1934, the City of Kerrville donated 517 acres to the State Parks Board for development of a state park. Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Company 1823CV arrived in January 1935 to begin construction on project SP-58. The company stayed until May 1937. CCC work at the park included building the park roads, culverts, and other park infrastructure. the caretaker’s dwelling, garage, a storage facility with water storage tank and entrance portals.
The park was originally called Kerrville State Park. The Texas Parks and Wildlife Department Commissioners changed the name to Kerrville-Schreiner State Park in 1990. On February 13, 2004, the park transferred back to the City of Kerrville under authority of Texas House Bill 2108.
Steely, James Wright (1999). Parks for Texas: Enduring Landscapes of the New Deal. Austin: University of Texas Press. p. 213. Kerrville-Schreiner Park http://kerrville.org/index.aspx?NID=318
Project originally submitted by Larry Moore on April 22, 2015.
We welcome contributions of additional information on any New Deal project site.SUBMIT MORE INFORMATION OR PHOTOGRAPHS FOR THIS SITE