De Witt Clinton Park
This park was first established in 1901. In October 1941, the WPA and the Department of Parks completed the reconstruction of the park:
“The old pavilion and comfort station was demolished and replaced by a modern brick building. The play was enlarged by the construction of retaining walls.
There are two wide gate controlled entrances on each side of the new comfort station, which is located on the center line adjacent to the east fence, leading to the wading pool area. The wading pool may also be used for basketball and volleyball in the fall and winter. Two shuffleboard courts are parallel to the west end of the pool.
A gate in the north fence of the pool area leads to the court games area which contains two combination basketball and volleyball courts and two handball courts completely bordered by a high chain link fence.
Play apparatus areas for preschool and older children are located in two fence enclosed units south of the pool…
The playground is bordered by a block paved panel containing a row of plane trees, alternating with benches facing the new asphalt surfaced interior boundary walks…
The north, south and west slopes between the playground and property line have been planted with a variety of trees and shrubs including hawthornes, flowering crabapples, viburnums, privets and oriental plane trees.
The baseball field recently seeded will not be opened until the turf has become sufficiently established to withstand usage.”
The park is still a vibrant and well-used site today.
Department of Parks, Press Release, October 6, 1941 NYC Parks - De Witt Clinton Park New York City Parks Department New Deal Projects 1934-43
Project originally submitted by Frank da Cruz on December 22, 2016.
We welcome contributions of additional information on any New Deal project site.SUBMIT MORE INFORMATION OR PHOTOGRAPHS FOR THIS SITE