Buffalo Cyclorama Building
The Cyclorama Building was built in 1888 and showcased a variety of cycloramic exhibits, including “The Crucifixion of Christ” and “The Battle of Gettysburg.” The city of Buffalo acquired the building in 1910, using it as a livery and taxi garage and as a roller skating rink. The building fell into disrepair until it was renovated and repaired by the Works Progress Administration (WPA) in 1937. The WPA added new windows, a new floor, and a new roof and built an additional room, all for the cost of $36,000. In 1942, the Grosvenor Library purchased the building, converting it into a library with reading rooms and lecture halls. The library’s doors closed for good in 1963. It is now the home to area offices. (“The Cyclorama Building.”)
National Archives and Records Administration, Records of the Work Projects Administration, Information Service, Primary File, 1936-42, Box 10, Folder 235-A. Buffalo Architecture and History, “The Cyclorama Building,” http://buffaloah.com/a/franklin/369/, accessed July 24, 2014.
Project originally submitted by Brent McKee on October 26, 2014.
We welcome contributions of additional information on any New Deal project site.SUBMIT MORE INFORMATION OR PHOTOGRAPHS FOR THIS SITE