New Deal book Award Ceremony at Hyde Park, NY – June 18th


Our first Annual New Deal Book Award was presented on June 18th to Scott Borchert, author of Republic of Detours: How the New Deal Paid Broke Writers to Rediscover America.  The award ceremony was part of the FDR Library’s Annual Roosevelt Reading Festival at Hyde Park NY.  Eric Rauchway, Distinguished Professor History at University of California, Davis, chair of the award committee and member of the LND Advisory Board, presented the award and Living New Deal staff member Kurt Feichtmeir, who led the award effort, was there to hand Borchert a $1,000 check.  The distinguished award committee led by Rauchway included professors Sharon Musher, Stockton College; Kimberley Johnson, NYU; Chloe Nicol Thurston, Northwestern; and Mason Williams, Williams College. Borchert’s fine book was chosen from more than a dozen submissions of books about artists and writers; photographers, administrators and influencers; race and resistance; and the New Deal’s place in American history.  

For more on the Roosevelt Reading Festival at Hyde Park, check out the FDR Library website here.  A conversation with author Scott Borchert and David Kipen featured on the Living New Deal webinar series, The Next New Deal, August 31, 2021, can be watched here: “The Rise, Fall and Rebirth of the Federal Writers’ Project

Event details

Date: Sat. Jun 18th, 2022

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.