• Chambers County Courthouse - Anahuac TX
    The fourth courthouse built for Chambers County was completed in 1936. The Works Progress Administration constructed the three-story ashlar limestone building with Moderne details at a cost of $276,000.
  • City Hall Annex (Old Post Office) - Kingman AZ
    Originally constructed as Kingman's post office, this building now serves as Kingman's City Hall Annex. A historic marker outside the building states: "A monument to massive federal building programs during the 1930s, construction of the post office represents the first major Federal construction in Kingman. Its completion was a major event in the town. The building is constructed of concrete and stucco with arched windows, a Period Revival style with Italianate influences." Public Works Administration (PWA) Docket No. Fed-156.
  • Federal Building (former Post Office) - Flagstaff AZ
    The Federal Building in downtown Flagstaff was constructed as the city's main post office in 1935-1937. Plans had originally called for a combination Post Office and Federal Building, but they were dropped in 1931 by the Hoover Administration for lack of funds (Cline, p 311). When the New Deal came in, funding was restored in 1934. The Federal Building is a gem of Moderne/Deco style architecture of the period. The basic form is a simple, two-story, rectangular box, but the facade is exceptional, consisting of three tall vertical openings (entrance and flanking windows) featuring gleaming copper panels and vertical bands. The...
  • Victoria Courts - San Antonio TX
    San Antonio's Board of Commissioners created the San Antonio Housing Authority (SAHA) on June 17, 1937. On September 1, 1937, President Roosevelt signed the United States Housing Act of 1937. This created the United States Housing Authority (USHA) and provided $500 million for subsidies to be paid from the U.S. government to local public housing agencies (LHAs) like SAHA to improve living conditions for low-income families. SAHA made applications to the USHA for funds and the USHA agreed to provide financing for five projects; Alazan Courts, Apache Courts, Lincoln Heights Courts, Wheatley Courts and Victoria Courts. San Antonio enforced segregation in...